Helen Davies in 2018

Last year, up and coming Welsh marathon runner, Dan Nash, led the Brighton Marathon men’s field from the gun for over 25 miles, despite stopping twice mid race for a toilet break. He will back for more this year and will be vying for first place against the likes of James Connor, Andy Maud and Paul Navesey.

Meanwhile, Helen Davies ran away with the women’s race last year to win in 2:38:41 which earnt her a selection to compete for England in the Toronto Waterfront marathon in Canada in October. She is back in 2019, looking to reclaim her title and beat her course PB of 2:34:11.

In addition to £2,000 cash prize for the winners, new time bonuses have been introduced to spur the marathon runners on with a new British course record offering an extra £1,500 for those who break it. 2:18:04 and 2:31:08 are the times to keep an eye on in both races.



2019 Brighton Marathon Prize Fund

British Athletes only – Men and Women prize fund

1st Place – £2,000
2nd Place – £1,000
3rd Place – £750
4th Place – £400
5th Place – £300
6th Place – £200
7th Place – £100
8th Place – £50

Male / Female Time Bonuses

Course record (2:09:25 / 2:28:50) – £5,000
British Course Record (2:18:04 / 2:31:08) – £1,500
Finish in Top 3 and Sub 2:20 / 2:36 – £750
Finish in Top 3 and Sub 2:22 / 2:38 – £500
Finish in Top 3 and Sub 2:24 / 2:40 – £250

Course Records

The men’s course record is currently held by William Chebor who smashed the previous best with a fine run of 2:09:25 at the 2014 event.

The women’s course record is held by Eunice Kales of Kenya in 2:28:50 for the 2013 Brighton Marathon.